Goldfinch gathering

Today was another evening run. After one of those oddly unsatisfying days. What I had to do, I am pleased about. But there was a fair bit of down time. Due to being the one available to assess the crises that need seeing by a doctor. Which is almost none, as the other staff are very capable.

I set off to find the Puketarata Pa site. For the second time I found myself not quite there. However, it was a really pleasing not quite there place. It was the Te Henui Cemetery, which appears to be the official Returned Servicemen's graveyard. Beautifully cared for graves of men (and women) who served and survived the two world wars.

I had hardly entered , when a flock of small birds ducked and dived as a group over me to find another place to roost. About the size of sparrows. I was convinced they were not, and so I tracked them. I was able to get a neat photo of them in flight. Wonderful pattern. Just silhouettes, so non recognisable.

Then they settled in the top of this and adjacent trees. When I looked at the photo after I had downloaded it, I saw that these are European Goldfinches. Despite the distance I was away, I think this photo is a good record of what I saw. Cropped (and adjusted slightly), I'm pleased with it.

Taranaki still had quite a big snowcap this morning. By this evening it had retreated up the mountain, and become less deep. Still photo to keep.

After all of that I saw half a dozen Eastern Rosellas, too high in the trees, against bright light, for a decent photo. I also saw a solitary small bird right to the top of a tree. My photo is not perfect, particularly after enlargement. However, I think this might have been a chaffinch. If it was, it would be the 50th bird species identified and photographed this year. 

I almost forgot to add that I saw another Piwakawaka (fantail) and this time got a pretty good photo of the fully fanned tail. (on the bird!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.