A Calm Autumn Day

Lunch in the sun for my cousin S and I at the Whakatane Heads - what a view. Lunch was pretty good to, takeaway sushi and miso soup - delicious!

An area of my home town I miss terriably. This is the Whakatane river mouth where Princess Wairaka stands and where boats are guided by markers to the bar. On hot summer days families are picnicking, children are swimming, fishing and exploring rock pools, boats of all types are coming and going but today is a quiet autumn day, warm in the sun and ever so calm.

The view is looking back towards the township and where houses on the cliffs have amazing views of the river and Pacific Ocean. The river does flood once or twice a year but not normally through the town - its wide now, imagine the current and width it would be in flood.

The rock has two commemorative plaques:
Wairaka Park in Commemoration New Zealand Centential  1840-1940

Matatua Canoe Memorial
The memorial was erected on March 16th 1940, by the Matatua tribes, to commemorate the historic landing on this sandy spot, of the Matatua Canoe, one of the main fleet of the Maori migration from Hawaiki in the year 1340 AD, after a voyage of 2,000 miles under the guidence of famous chief and navigator Toroa.

I see my home town so differently now from when I was a child, I would never be blipless, so much beauty with many moods.

This is a backblip, take a peek back to see where I've been :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.