Waka Mural

I'm now in my home town of Whakatane in the Bay of Plenty of the North Island of New Zealand. I've come to help my cousin with the annual stocktake of her shop as well as have some time to reminisce and catch up with family.

A frosty start made way for a bright sunny day, lots of shoppers out and about as my cousin and I started the annual stocktake of her shop, the fully stocked and small backroom was the mission for today - we got half way, we'll be back tomorrow.

As the sun was going down I realised a blip was needed so rushed down the street to this Waka Mural. Created by Tim Worrall in 1995, this mural adorns the wall outside The Bean Cafe and Roastery. The panel depicts Captain Cook's voyage along the coastline. The mural incorporates sections of a whaling boat on the left, a waka on the right and Maori carvings.

Try in large, I think its much better.

Glad you enjoyed the aerial shots from yesterday, thank you for all of your lovely comments :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.