Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

New haircut!

Today was The Day... I've been working up to getting the clippers out for quite some time... He'd be due to go to the groomer's tomorrow, so the time was right. I could put it off no longer. I watched the video on 'how to groom a schnauzer' again this morning. No bother... Except when it's a bit near his face and ears.

The boiler man was coming 'between 8am and 5pm' - so helpful! But JR and Archie popped up The Hill in the morning, while I did some leisurely weeding, which involved sitting on a low stool. They met Sammy and Rosie, two schnauzers we've met before. Once again, JR did not bring the camera... But today's photo was to be the new haircut anyway. Unless it was drastically awful, of course. He had a big wash and brush up when he came home.

Once the boiler man had gone, we set to, with the special grooming table set up outside. Just as well - What a LOT of fur came off. It looked like the scene of a bunny murder! I was very nervous of doing his ears, and so they've been left for another time. And in fact, I missed parts of his tail, but no matter. He was amazingly good - just stood there, uncomplaining. What a wee star he is!

My second cup of coffee today was not a success, so I'm sticking to G&T to celebrate a fairly successful grooming session. It should get easier. In fact, he doesn't look too much different from yesterday, but I assure you - LOT came off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.