Leaning on the lamp-post

The Blip King himself was in town, talking about George Formby. I missed it as I had other things to attend to but here is my homage.

I've also been reading some weighty tomes about economic forecasting ( I know, I know) and when I uploaded this it reminded me of the observation of Andrew Lang.....

" An unsophisticated forecaster uses statistics as a drunken man uses lamp-posts - for support rather than for illumination."

Whilst I had taken on some fluids at the Tyneside Tavern by this point I wasn't in need of support although me and Eve did walk the whippet round to offer our support to the kids doing the mini-triathlon. Even saw a friend running alongside his daughter which brought a lump to the throat - this time last year he was told be would be dead before Christmas. Really chuffed to see him still fighting, in fact still running.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.