Covered in Bees

By PaulFS

Old Barns

I wonder if I'll ever understand what draws me to a certain scene? Why do I love photo's of old train tracks, especially if they feature good thick sleepers?

I don't particularly love trains, and I don't particularly love train tracks, but a 'photo' of a train track I can really like. But I don't know why.

I love photo's of wild flowers in meadows, or by a roadside. These are probably easier to understand as they're just pretty and purple and red and yellow.

But I often wonder what makes something 'evocative' to one person and indifferent to another.

I suppose it's no different to food or smells; why do I love the smell of lime and cut grass? Good experiences? The onset of Summer? What makes it 'good' to me?

And music - musical tastes differ but the vast majority of us will wince at a 'bad' note. Who decided that a note was bad and how did our brains pick up on that? That's not about 'taste' or conditioning, so you can't argue it's just preference. A bad note is horrible. And if you disagree well that's just odd.

And another thing - what am I rambling about and where am I going with this? What made me start this diatribe of unanswerable questions?

Not got a clue.

But this photo - I quite like the image it evokes - it's not a great photo and I couldn't ever pretend it was, so why did I pick it over the other photo's I took on this dismal grey Friday?

I don't know. I know why I picked Mount Bradford yesterday. Because it was a cloud that looked like Mount Fuji! No choice there! Same as if I saw a unicorn. Unicorn or tree? Unicorn or tree? Hmm...the tree looks a but special - sunset behind it - could be a winner... but then again; unicorn?

OK - I've run out of steam now.

My name is Paul and I like photo's of old barns or garages with broken wooden doors.

Thanks for the hearts and comments and stars for Mount Bradford - just in case anyone who's not from round here didn't realise, the mountain was a fleeting cloud formation - sadly we don't have any real mountains like this in these parts!

I'm catching up on journals still and enjoying doing so :o)

Have a great weekend blippers :o)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.