Way of Life

Friday was probably the best day of my holiday in Japan. I met up with blipper and Tokyo resident wayoflife - https://www.blipfoto.com/wayoflife

Paul led me to Sugamo, an area that used to be fashionable a good few years back. To quote Paul "with the locals getting on a bit someone decided that giant red pants were the way forward to give everyone a little bit more vim and vigor, or in Japanese a little more genki. Only in Japan, eh?"

We had a great time wandering about the market, eating persimmons and crackers, talking about cameras and his experiences in Japan. I felt like we were on the same wavelength right from the get go. No need to visit sites on someone else's list just to tick them off - we just wandered and enjoyed the sunshine.

Thank blip for blip! How else could one meet a complete stranger in a land far, far away from home and have so much in common? I did wonder for a brief moment if I was meeting an axe murderer but of course I wasn't. This is Japan; he's an expert in the martial art of aikido.

I'd like to thank Paul for a cracking day out. I'll definitely look him up when I go back to Japan in a few years with a friend.

A few more ...
https://www.flickr.com/photos/whiskyfoxtrot/?

Domo arigato gazaimasu

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.