Kamakura

Today I took myself off to Kamakura, a town about an hour away from Tokyo by train (have I mentioned how much I adore Japan Rail?). I went to Kamakura when I was in Japan 20 years ago and I wanted to see the bamboo groves and to see if I would get my bottom pinched, again.

I had limited time and I didn't find the bamboo groves but did find the enormous statue of the Buddha. This time, being mid-week instead of the weekend, the numbers at the famous shrine were more manageable and I didn't get my bottom pinched. Just as well ... There were many things I didn't recognise from the first time 'round, including the Starbucks. Things move on.

It was a beautiful day with another ice cream flavour to try - sweet potato. I think the woman might have mistaken my order for blueberry but it was delicious nonetheless.

In the evening I met two friends of a friend in England. We went for the most delicious meal I've had so far. It amazes me how kind people are. Someone emails out of the blue to say a friend is in Japan and would you all like to meet each other and they all say yes - remarkable!

Many, many more over at the other place...
https://www.flickr.com/photos/whiskyfoxtrot/?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.