Journal of a Jessica

By Wallflower

Expanders.

E is for expanders in today's entry, as I have expanded my ear again... I know I'm going to regret this when I'm trying to heal the huge gaping hole in my ear when I'm bored of it, but it's currently 6mm, and I like it. I'm going to expand it to 12mm.

I've had a really, really good day. I was at work today, but there wasn't much to do as there weren't many customers in, so my boss and I sat and ate cake and drank coffee and chatted to the regular customers who are all so lovely. I think I get on better with elderly people than I do people my own age... But they're actually so funny. My Mum came in for lunch as I was on my lunch break, so we sat and talked for a while. Lesley came after work, I could get used to her coming to my house regularly, she really makes my day. We watched the IT Crowd and Made In Chelsea again, and just talked. She's the Ron to my Harry, that sounds cheesy but it's a Harry Potter reference so it's acceptable. There were a few tears when she left though, because I watched the Philosopher's Stone, and it hit me again that my childhood is officially over. Harry Potter is literally my entire childhood. So I thought I'd tell you exactly what Harry Potter means to me, so that you understand where I'm coming from.

I was two-years-old when the Philosopher's Stone was published, and my Grandad used to read it to me all the time. He then read the next couple of books to me until I could read myself, then we read them together. I was six-years-old when the Philosopher's Stone was released at the cinema, and I'll never forget when my Grandad and I went to see it for the first time, with me dressed as a little wizard - it's the thing that stands out most for me when I think about when I was young. Ever since then it's always been our thing, we've been to see all eight movies together. I cried when I was six because of excitement at Philosopher's Stone, and cried at sixteen because my heart broke at Deathly Hallows Part 2. I don't care how sad that sounds, it literally means everything to me. It's all I've ever known, all of the days spent reading the books (I must have read them all about 14 times now), and when the characters died I genuinely felt like a friend had died. I've been so lucky to have been born in the Potter generation, it's the only thing that makes not being alive in the 60s acceptable. When it ended, that was my whole childhood over, gone. When I went to the Studio Tour I felt like my life had been made; I was at the place where my childhood movies had been created, and I just wept when I stood in the Great Hall. I'd honestly be lost without Harry Potter, it's everything. I literally worship the ground that J.K. Rowling walks on... I'm going to write a letter to her soon to thank her for everything she's done. She's an amazing woman. So yes, now I hope you sort of understand what it means to me.

I'm at my cousin's wedding tomorrow, so I may have to upload tomorrow's Blip on Monday. I'll either be too tired or too drunk to Blip tomorrow.

I hear Jerusalem bells a ringing, Roman Cavalry choirs are singing. Be my mirror, my sword and shield, my missionaries in a foreign field. I'M GOING TO SEE COLDPLAY IN FIVE DAYS. YOU HAVE NO IDEA HOW MUCH I LOVE COLDPLAY.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.