Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

First BBQ!

An excellent Bank Holiday - spent the day doing jobs in the front garden, taking a walk up Blackford Hill in the afternoon and having a barbecue in the evening.

I did a bit of chopping and sawing kindling, and even succeeded in splitting the big tree stump in two because I kept missing the small bits of wood I wanted to split. I don't know my own strength!

JR tidied up the garden and planted out some ground cover, with Archie 'helping'.

I then had a notion to assemble the BBQ stand, which I'd been putting off. But I was in an 'assembling' mood, and so it was no bother. I must say, it's a very good design, and folds away flat, with the BBQ atop.

So after the hill walk, the obvious thing to do was to try the BBQ out. We didn't exactly sit around in a balmy evening - it wasn't - but at least we've had one. Tinkerbelle (the neighbour's cat) was out in the back garden, so Archie had to stay inside the doggy gate and look at us. There is going to have to be a showdown between them, and then he'll know who's boss. (Tinkerbelle!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.