Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Sunrise near Belvide Reservoir

It's now quite a struggle to make sunrise (5:28).  I was heading for Weston, hoping that the windy conditions and clouds might provide a different look to the park and so add to the portfolio.  I had started with very little cloud in the sky but as I drove along the A5 a large ominous bank of cloud was looming from the west.  It was turning a dusky pink colour and hints of the widest rainbow I can remember seeing could be observed to the north and south.

I pulled over at Belvide Reservoir as I caught the first sunlight in the rear view mirror.  Grabbing the camera bag and tripod, I just had time to put on boots and rain coat before the first spits or rain pattered on the car.  A footpath offered a route into the adjacent field where I could get an uninterrupted view.  I considered capturing the rainbow, but pointing the camera into the oncoming rain was a recipe for failure.  Even as it was trying to add a filter to the front of the lens was no mean task as water droplets liberally covered it as I slipped it onto the holder.

Fortunately the rain relented for a few moments, allowing me to wipe the filter and slide it on to the lens.  I kept it covered, then quickly composed the shot, bracketed to ensure I could capture the full exposure range.

Technical:  As I said, a bracketed exposure 3 images. 2 stops apart.  Also a 2 stop hard ND Grad on the lens to control the sky exposure.  Processed in HDR Efex Pro.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.