Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Heading Home, New Street, Birmingham

Both for me and many of the people in this image.  I'd gone on a training course to re-acquaint myself with the 'exciting' subject of local air quality management.  Birmingham is my home town and each time I visit things have changed.  Probably most surprising for me this time was the revamp of New Street Railway Station which now confuses me totally.

I carried a camera (as you do) and took a number of photos but I've always wanted to try and emulate those wonderfully evocative street scenes of yesteryear.  I'm sure it would take a lot more than this quick grab but I always like to consider what each person might be thinking.  For example, I like how the young lady has slightly twisted her body and arm, probably to swerve past the man.  The two ladies who are more intent in conversing with their smartphones than each other.  In many ways it is a statement of our modern society.  Had I been brave enough I would have taken a photo on the train, where just about everyone was head down looking at their phones, or iPads, or Kindles.  It was one of the quietest train journeys I'd ever experienced.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.