JUST A LITTLE "BLIP"

Despite doing so well since coming out of hospital after my knee operation, yesterday was my day for having a little "blip".  

I looked up the definition of "blip" and there were three, one of which was "something that is small or unimportant or that does not last a long time" - and that's just what yesterday was.  I realise there may be other small blips during my time of recovery, but I will get there - perhaps not quite as quickly as I would like.  

This is the start of a cricket week for Mr. HCB and he has gone off, in the pouring rain, and hasn't yet come back, so I guess he and his friend have decided that they will drive to Bristol to see if what the weatherman says is true - that the rain should move northwards by about mid-morning.

I know it rained very heavily in the night - I could hear it through the open window - I wanted to get out and close the window, but couldn't quite rouse myself enough to do it - and then this morning realised that the rain had come in and the windowsill was quite wet.

So not daring to go out in the rain (Mr. HCB would kill me if he found out!) I decided that my beautiful Wedgwood lidded dish would make a good blip for today - ah yes, that's another definition of "blip" -  "a photograph taken daily by someone who wants to share their life with a great group of like-minded people"!

I have now shut the window and am wondering why two grown men would choose to travel 30 miles possibly to sit in the rain and eat their sandwiches, and hopefully see 13 men running around a cricket pitch at any one time - plus an umpire, of course.  The answer is because they are English, of course, and the game must go on!

Just had a call from Mr. HCB - they have arrived at the cricket ground - it is still raining, but they are hoping it may stop so they can see some cricket this afternoon - rather them than me!

Thank you for all your kind comments and good wishes yesterday, which were much appreciated - I will try and get round to responding before too long. 

"If you never lose
then you can never
appreciate
the victories."
Jeff Rice

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.