Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Two for the price of one!

This morning I was meeting ExpatMama for coffee at the new coffee/book shop in Quartermile, so I went on into town first for my blip. I knew what I had in mind, but it was not to be. It was better.

I was heading for the Kilted Kiwi, or at least, to check if he was loitering outside the Missoni in his usual place. No. There were two kilted lads there. I asked about the Kilted Kiwi, and was told he wasn't on today, and so I walked on. Then I came to my senses. Two of them! In kilts! Happy to pose! Get a grip!!

So I walked back to them and asked for a photo. I think they were a bit bored, and were happy to oblige, even doing a little thing with their umbrellas. I didn't like to say, 'Forget the umbrellas lads, move in closer so that I don't have that big expanse of reflecting glass between you.' Their names are Attila from Hungary (left) and Felix from England (right).

They said it wasn't too boring standing there all day, because people stopped to talk to them and take photos. I think Missoni have got it right. Stick a couple of lads in kilts outside your hotel - brilliant! They seem to enjoy working there.

Back to the new cafe to meet up with ExpatMama and wee M. What a charming wee chap! He just sat and giggled and gurgled and sucked my thumb (no teeth - I'm very careful about that now - once bitten) while we had a good old chinwag about all things blipping and cameras. ExpatMama showed me a piece of kit that I now lust after... when will it end??

As I was walking down to the cafe, a couple were walking towards me but on the other side of the walkway. The man suddenly gave a big hoik and spat a gobby projectile. I couldn't help myself - I was almost level with them - and I let out an involuntary "Yeuch!" He looked at me, and I heard myself continuing, "Not nice!" and walked on. He said something that I didn't quite catch, but I didn't stop to ask him to repeat it.

Back home to post the lads, then off to let Uncle A fondle my new lens. It was all his fault, really.

List of annoying things (contd)

People who spit.
People who try to stab your eyes out with their umbrellas.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.