Kent Estuary

Today's the day .............................. to go for a paddle

We went for a stroll along the promenade at Arnside this afternoon. I have to say I always feel guilty taking pictures around here. I have this vague feeling that someone is likely to leap out from behind a bush at the click of my camera and ask for my credentials to be photographing in gladderscountry. It didn't stop me though!

This little family were going for a paddle quite a way out from the shore. It seemed to me an incredibly foolish thing to be doing bearing in mind how treacherous the Kent Estuary can be. The tide rushes in at a tremendous rate and a channel just a few inches deep one minute can be transformed into a deep gulf within the space of half an hour. This after all was where all those cocklepickers lost their lives not so long ago.

It's just as well that seagull was keeping an eye on them .....................................

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.