Onesmallplanet

By Onesmallplanet

Too popular?

Ok, I think I've seen the Mona Lisa in more detail on T.V. than I have in the flesh. I wasn't even going to attempt to get any closer, it seemed pointless but it was fascinating to watch the scrum of ever changing eager tourists pushing and selfie-ing in front of this incredibly sought after work of art. This was a far cry from my experience in the Pompidou Center yesterday...I wonder if any of the artists featured in that gallery will in 500 years time have hundreds of onlookers gathering each day to view their works? hmmmmm
So yes it is our last full day in Paris and we decided that we couldn't leave without visiting the Louvre (plus we needed to take advantage of our museum passes) The building itself was fascinating, I knew that in reality I was only going to see about 10 percent of this colossal art temple but I certainly gave a good go trying to fit in everything that was on my "must see" list....I think I broke K in the process. 
It had been overcast and threatening to rain but we took a risk and had something to eat in the lovely Tuileries gardens again, resting our legs in the process. The late afternoon was a more subdued affair, we decided to visit the Jardin des Plantes. We got caught in a pretty heavy downpour as we made our way through the Latin Quarter but by the time we entered the garden the sun began to show it's face and we able to enjoy the outdoors. There were many Parisian families leisurely strolling and making the most of a lazy Saturday afternoon, it was nice to get off the beaten track and feel maybe just a bit like a local!
We had booked a meal at the restaurant just around the corner from our apartment, a little goodbye treat! It was a wonderful four course meal, a great little bistro with bags of personality and a glass of champagne didn't go amiss! We ended our night with a couple glasses of wine sitting on the grass in front of the Sacre Coeur admiring the lights of the city, who says Paris isn't romantic..it's all that and more!
Also Happy B-day to my bro L, all the best!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.