Found

First day back at work with a stupid, pointless and irritating early wakening at 4.15am that just meant that I started the day with a headache. Nice to be back on the bike and chatting with TFP along the way and once I'd waded through the 172 emails to find the three interesting ones, a pretty productive day.

Ages ago I used a quote by William Eggleston from an article in the Guardian
"When out taking photographs around Oxford, Mississippi, he realised "it was one of those occasions when there was no picture there. It seemed like nothing, but of course there was something for someone out there." So Eggleston simply pointed his camera at the earth and began "taking some pretty good pictures". Later, over dinner, a friend asked him what he had been doing all day and he replied, "Well, I've been photographing democratically." "

And there's the famous set of photos by Irving Penn of stuff he found on the street. This sort of combines the two - regularly failing to find anything of interest on my lunchtime wanders when I'm looking up, I thought I'd see what I could find as I walked around looking down. Oddly, this is the longest I've spent deliberately taking a photo for ages.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.