Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Up, up and away!

Not the crispest image, but definitely my favorite of the day.  I was out this morning with the camera (D600 with 105 macro) and spied this little ladybug beetle fiddling about on the day lilies.  I sat myself down and proceeded to click away and was lucky to get two lift-off shots (the other on Flickr).  Isn't it funny how most of us view ladybugs as friendly bugs, even though they are beetles and even though they are pretty savage little carnivores?  Well, at least they eat garden pests, so one can overlook the carnivore thing.  

Four other shots starting HERE - I'd be curious to know your thoughts on the mono version of the ladybug.

I whacked more weeds and nasty invasive shrubs away from a patch of ground near our driveway at the edge of some cedar trees.  Then, once the small plot was clear, I got dirt, peat moss and some nice compost and laid it all down.  And planted six little Common Milkweed seedlings!  Once established, they will spread throughout that area, providing beautiful pink blooms, excellent pollen for a host of bees and butterflies and (most importantly) a host plant for the Monarch Butterfly.  As most of you probably know, milkweed is the only plant that the monarch caterpillars can eat.  And, since much of this valuable "weed" has been eradicated from farmland, our N. American monarchs are in serious trouble.  In the same patch, I hope to plant some native monarda (bee balm) that I am currently trying to start from seed.  Patience, I keep telling myself...

Hubs and I had a good day pottering around outside and this evening we are off to a farewell/birthday dinner for the friends who gave Charlie to us.  They are leaving next week for the UK for a couple of years, which will be a wonderful adventure for them and their little girl.  

Hope everyone is having a wonderful weekend.

I was so moved to see how many of us dedicated blips for Alma yesterday.  I can only imagine how touched Anni was by this worldwide tribute to her dear mum.  And I hope that it brings her some small comfort in what can only be a terribly sad time.  

Be well, people...and don't forget to tell those close to you that you love them.

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.