If you go down to the beach today...

.... you're sure of a big surprise!
A warm and sunny day and we've been working away in the garden, mostly removing about a square kilometre of massive brambles. They were swamping shrubs and little trees and have been severely hacked back - plenty still remaining for blackberries. Hot and sweaty I decided to attempt a swim. I arrived at the beach an an ex-pupil and her family were there and I was just in time for the cake! It was C's birthday -unbelievably she is 22, surely only 12 when we last met - and they were celebrating by swimming and eating.  Unfortunately no-one had thought to bring matches so the lighting of the candles was improvised though the singing was real. Great to hear that she's just finished her first year at Art School and doing very well.
I left them to it and went to a section of the strand behind rocks where no-one can hear you scream. I had been forewarned that the water was cold. It was ICY -cold enough for bits to start falling off should you linger. I was in and out like a flash and everywhere went a bit mottled.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.