Baby Nuthatch

Arvin and I were walking along the path in Whatcom Falls Park when I heard a tiny peeping sound coming from nearby. I followed my ears and finally spotted this tiny fellow. It is a newly fledged Red Breasted Nuthatch chick. It can't be more than one and a half to two inches tall. It was toward dusk so I had to boost the ISO way up to get a photo. Had to blip him. When I first saw him he was nestled under a leaf. I'll post a photo of him in that position in the extra photo section.

Arvin and I had a lovely day together. We drove down Chuckanut, visited the Chuckanut Bay Gallery and then went on to Edison where we had a yummy meal at Tweets. Lovely way to spend a Sunday.

Just added another photo to the extra section. There was a mother Wood Duck sheltering her chicks under her wings. Again it isn't a technical masterpiece, but they were so charming I had to share.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.