Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Garlic scapes/glow worms

I had to google this word.     Scapes.   I'm not a gardener...    This morning found us on Galiano getting some groceries and other supplies, including at the hardware store for some lumber, dirt, plumbing parts, replacement glasses for ones we broke, plastic tarp, a few toys.  A nice man came up to us there with a box full of these curly green things and said take a handful, we have way too many!  thank you!
I think they looked very exotic and ended up just playing with the shapes and colors on the computer til they almost glowed.  The flower stalk of the garlic plant.

Now I have to google recipes for garlic scapes so I can use them for dinner….    

Edit!  I sautéed them with portabellos and onions over orzo with parmesan and a little spinach., (good!)
And if you want to look at a really ugly bird even uglier, eating a baby raccoon, look HERE.  (if you are not too squeamish..) An eagle got a little raccoon by our pond but by the time H alerted me and I went to get the camera, the turkey vultures were the only birds in sight.   When I went back after dinner, the whole carcass was gone. I was so hoping to catch the eagle but he is much more spooked by people than those vultures....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.