bucks life

By bucksmiss

Perfect afternoon

Once again work was fine and I was able to leave on time at lunch.

It's been a gorgeous hot day, about 25C in the sun. When I got home I made some fruit smoothie for later. P arrived with his tools and we set to clearing the main flower bed in readiness for enlarging it and re-planting. I did some pruning while he did the harder spade work and progress was made. He's going to come again next week to move the path. Fantastic.

C and the bubbles also came over and set up camp on the lawn while we worked around them. Teddy helped as usual by carrying an empty flowerpot, doing some earth moving, collecting stones, picking flowers and watching snails! The delightful Tilly, simply delighted by distributing smiles to us all and here she is, as pretty as a picture.

All in all it was a perfect family afternoon.... one of those gentle, sunlit, stolen afternoons I shall treasure.

At one point, a lady knocked whose grandparents used to live in my house so I showed her round while she reminisced. It transpires she and her sister were born in my bedroom in the 50s! She shared some interesting tales including one of her father catching a bat in my bedroom using a pair of his Y fronts then letting it go out of the window but the pants went flying out too! She told me of the days when the house doubled up as the village doctor's surgery. Indeed my sitting room was used as the surgery and my dining room was the waiting room. Her grandfather was a cabinet maker and built the wooden panelling that still surrounds the fireplace in the dining room.

L and his friend R popped in briefly and managed to catch C and the bubs. We opened the garden gate and had a nice chat with the neighbour. His garden is looking stunning right now as ever.

Everyone has gone and I've flopped on the sofa and will have a chilled out evening. The weather is due to be marvellous tomorrow too so I'll be going to the pool. Happy days!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.