michigan man

By outdoorguy

Wednesday Wheels...OR...My New Truck

Last week, I took my little red truck (a GMC Sonoma) up to a sand and gravel place to pick up some black dirt for our flower beds. The dirt guy said..."I can only load about 1/2 a yard in there, because of the weight. I took my half yard, and went home.

"I'M SICK OF ONLY GETTING A HALF YARD!!! I WANT A BIGGER TRUCK!!!"

I was smitten when I saw this beauty at a local used car place, and I just had to have it.

It is a 1987 American General M923. There were only 32,000 of them produced. It stands 10 feet tall, is 25 feet long, and weighs in at 21,600 pounds.

Forget about 4 wheel drive. This baby has 6 wheel drive, 48 inch tires, and a 650 cubic inch diesel engine under the hood. It has 53,000 miles on it, and it set me back 9,800 dollars.

The little girl (the salesperson) assured me that the 53,000 miles were mostly driven on the highway, that it might get 25 miles to the gallon, and that no Marines had EVER smoked in it. Plus, she threw in a secondhand radio (AM and cassette only), and 3 new air fresheners. A sweet deal.

I can hardly wait for 4 things:
1. For Lisa to get home, and see my new gem in the driveway.
2. To return to the dirt place, and tell the dirt guy to load 'er up.
3. To build a new garage.
4. To have my first bout with road rage.
"Excuse me sir, did you know you cut me off back there?"
"ARE YOU TALKING TO ME BOY? "
"I'LL CRUSH YOU LIKE A GNAT!
I'LL SKIN YOU LIKE A CAT!
AND, AFTER YOU GO SPLAT...
YOU'LL WISH YOU WERE RAT SCAT!!!"

Ohhhhh, what fun that will be.

Believe what you may. ;0)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.