A woman, her dog, and the sun

Woke at my usual time again this morning, and was almost ready to head out for a run, when the clouds opened. Heavy rain in the dark does not encourage starting a run. So I sat and looked at some journals on blipfoto, thinking I'd have a midday run. Then the sky cleared and I realised the sunrise might be striking.

So off I trotted. After initially subdued skies, I was treated to increasing colours and contrasts, and reflections in the shallow pools left behind by the retreating tide. A couple of challenges to my final choice of blip.

The sun had just emerged to become a bright orb, sending a track of light across the bay and the flats. Lots of reflections in the pools. And an early morning dog walker on the sand below where I stood between two pohutukawa.

Shortly after I was treated to a large rainbow, and then a deluge. Getting wet was a worthwhile price for the sunrise I was privileged to see.

Today has been spent mostly on agenda reading. More to come.

ADDITIONAL: Last week I almost solved the Saturday Kropotkin, on the Saturday. I couldn't get the last two clues. The answers were in today's paper. One answer just showed that I'm ignorant of the names of composers. The other showed how I got skewed by a presumption.

The clue? 26 across (9) A ball in Society back in 15. The answer? IN S(= society) WINGER (a player in the backs in rugby, 15 players) = inswinger, a ball bowled in cricket. Felt really cross with myself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.