Daytime Bandit

Lynda told me that she had seen the raccoon on the deck several times, always around 12:30 to 1:00 in the afternoon. This afternoon I was on the phone making some arrangements. I looked up and there he or she was, big as brass (and I do mean big), grabbing what was left of the Alpo dog food. (I changed brands due to some bad press. Turns out Alpo is cheaper and the birds, and apparently the raccoons, love it.)

Of course I had to ask the person I was working with on the phone if I could take a short break to photograph the raccoon. She was very accommodating and I grabbed a few shots through the window. I thought he was eating the tomato plant and said so on the phone. The gal helping me suggested I go out and chase him away, so I did. I think this is most likely the same raccoon I photographed about a week ago, up a tree being harassed by the crows. 

What I was doing on the phone was planning another trip. This time I think it will work out. We are flying to Montreal and taking a Blount small ship up to Quebec and back down the river, through canals and the Hudson River to New York. Arvin is delighted with the idea and so am I. We start on October 19th and if the leaves are as late as they recently have been, we should see some good color as we travel.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.