Simply Me

By Suze981

The unexpected

I wasn't planning on going for a run today. Or rather, I was, but I saw a friend's Facebook post and at 4.45am it was already 'warm for a run'. To me this translates to hotter than the fiery pits of hell - so I stayed in bed. Today was supposed to be the hottest day of the year after all.

When I got home from work (after a detour back to the office as I'd forgotten my laptop) it seemed cooler. I was actually feeling pretty spritely so I headed out - it was only 18 degrees and I thought I felt a few spots of rain.

Holyrood park was once again turned into a massive car park for the Queen's garden party so I decided to avoid the traffic-laden roads. I did what I'm not supposed to do. I went off into the trails of Arthur's Seat. My ankles can't really take uneven ground so I'm supposed to stick to roads.

It was an unexpectedly brilliant run, the best I've had in a few weeks now. I could feel my right calf at points and I'll admit to a little left ankle instability at points too, but I didn't go over on it and I didn't have to stop and stretch. Result!

I'll keep on with the foam roller, but this might just be progress...again...

Running recovery mileage (From 15 March)
Today's run: 3 miles
Total mileage: 130.5 miles

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.