Greenan Castle

Took a bus to Ayr today and paddled along the seashore and eventually ended up looking up at Greenan Castle.  It is a fine ruin, perched precariously on the edge of the cliff....... I keep wondering if it will be there the next time I visit.

Then walked along the river to the Secret Garden for a lovely lunch, before retracing steps back to the bus station and home.

The weather was lovely, warm, but not so hot as yesterday, thank goodness, and a wee breeze at the coast.

I was very impressed with all the wild flowers, I think on the islands they would call it the machair, but I have no idea what the Ayrshire worthies call it..... the bit of sandy soil above the beach; the wild flowers were glorious there, and I have shown some as extras, together with a swan who was picking his way delicately along towards the sea.

Coming back over the Fenwick Moor it turned to rain, and it has cooled the place off quite a bit.


Your hearts and stars have put this picture in the Popular pages.  Thanks a million!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.