Journey Through Time

By Sue

Meet Howard

This is Howard, 86 years young. He is married to my step-mom. My birth mother and father were married, got divorced and my dad re-married. He died in 1972 and then my step-mom, who I have known since I was 11, met and married Howard. He had three daughters from a previous marriage but happily took on more family that he acquired in marrying Sondra. He is grandfather to our son and he cares about all of his family, blood or otherwise. Born in Brooklyn, NY, he fell in love with the outdoors and ended up in Forestry the University of Montana. He is a WWII veteran, serving in the Pacific, and then he took a position with the Weather Bureau. He has been to the North Pole and the South Pole and he was with the first group of men who "wintered over" in the Antarctic and was at McMurdo Base. Howard was interviewed and you can read about him, if you want. There is a Wessbecher Glacier in the antarctic as the men would explore and name glaciers after themselves. What the heck, why not?

Howard is a joy and we are so happy to have him in our lives. And he loves to win games of "500".

Sunday we ate, played another round of games. We saw the deer, butterflies, bees, flowers, more deer, but the twin fawns never showed up, darn. Saw lots of turkeys who wander through their yard, kicking up the ground and making a mess. But, I thought it would be fun to tell you about Howard.

Have a great day, Blippers. I have back blips, if you care to go backward in time to Friday. Thanks!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.