PaulaJ

By PaulaJ

The end of the Fair

We had to drive through Appleby on our way back from London, as we live just a couple of miles away. It has been Horse Fair Weekend and, as I missed blipping any of the action, I decided to take a picture of the few caravans remaining after most have left.

I didn't really want this to be an image of the mess left behind, as that's a trifle negative, but it was impossible not to get some of it in. I think it is only the locals who know the full extent of this debris. Happily it will almost all be gone in the next couple of days, as gangs of workers descend and clear it all up.

I think it has been a wet Fair weekend and from what we can see the river in Appleby seems still to be closed off after it was deemed unsafe, because of the height of the water, for the traditional washing of the horses.


I seem to have lost five hours today - now where have those hours gone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.