Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Storybook House

This is probably my favourite house in Winchester, and as it looks ripe for redevelopment - and there was a wonderful sky this afternoon - I thought I'd get in there first.  Honestly, every time I go past (which I do quite often as it's very close to where I live) I expect to see some heavy machinery and a gaping hole.

The thing is, it's far from the most beautiful building in the city, its spectacular country views are set to be spoiled in the next few years and it's garden - much too large and ripe for building 50 Luxury Homes on, is rather over-colonised by brambles and what looks suspiciously like knotweed.  But still.. but still.. if I won the lottery (I won't, I don't do it) this is what I'd buy.

And the reason is because it's a house from a Victorian/Edwardian storybook.  I can imagine Nesbit's 5 Children finding 'It' behind the greenhouse, or the Railway Children skipping out the front door with 'my Daddy'.  And it has a rather wonderful hobbit-y address: 'Old Gardens'.

So that's enough from me for today.  Enjoy your Friday evening and I hope you have a great weekend planned  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.