Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Kickin' Back

I think this shot best sums up the day, plus it made me laugh.  This is a juvenile Carolina Wren, one of the most endearing backyard birds in the Eastern US.  He and a sibling were around last night, and made another appearance today, exploring everything on the deck and patio.  At one point, this one just sat right down on the deck railing and fluffed its feathers, no doubt in an attempt to regulate its temperature on this hot day.  When I got the images up on my screen, I realized that in this one, its little feet were raised off the deck railing - meaning that it was sitting on its bum.  Kickin' back.  

Sometimes, cute just has to win out.  That said, I got an interesting shot of something I've only ever read about (and seen on Blip) - a tiny fly blowing bubbles!  Fascinating behavior.  My two other favorite shots today...

Female hummer doing a belly flop into the flower pot - poor thing is looking a little tattered after raising her brood 
A tiny bee so thick with pollen that I don't know how it could fly

We had a lovely dinner with our neighbors last night.  When we got home, I popped on the floodlights in the backyard...only to see a rather large bear meandering across our patio!  I ran out to scare it off - Hubs ran out to try to "save" me.  The bear ran off into the woods.  I made sure to take the seed feeder off my "bear resistent" clothesline...which didn't stop the bear from returning at some point during the night and bringing the line down.  Blasted thing.  Give me a good old predictable alligator any day!

One of my three closest friends, Peg, is coming over tonight for a visit - we're planning cedar-planked salmon on the deck (if the bear doesn't come around) with plenty of wine.  One of the guest rooms is made up and waiting, wine is chilling, and some nibbles are ready to tide us over until dinner.  Hubs is napping - bracing himself. no doubt!

Thanks for the support on my "no anger" position!  I know that hanging on to anger is easy to do, but also serves NO good to anyone.  

Happy Saturday...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.