TODAY I FOUND THE YOUNG GREBE

in the pond where I had seen her for the first time, but now she was without her parents and all alone.
She peeped all the time but no parent came with some food. After some time I saw that she could dive. Is that the way she has to learn, caring for herself out of necessity?
Some days ago she had been in aonother pond where the swan couple with cygnets swam and where the male swan chased all the geese out of the water. And how many geese, also with goslings, there were I showed in my picture some days ago.
The swans had left that pond too and the female swam with her 5 little ones and the male lay sleeping at the shore.
Suddenly I saw a young woman nearing on bike. She stopped and with some bread she walked to the male swan, to my big surprise. She gave him what bread, talked to him and began to stroke him.
A minute later another young woman joined her and it turned out that they had noticed that the male swan was ill, affected by botulisme, they knew the symptoms. And if nothing was done the swan would die.
The woman that had come later led the swan into the pond, although the other one objected, took her mobile and phoned the animal ambulance vehicle.
The one woman was soft and friendly and had been so right in her idea to leave the swan out of the water. The other so different in her doings, taking control and decision but made things more difficult.
Because when the ambulance came and a woman had stepped out of the vehicle with a hand-brailer or landing-net, the swan was too far from the shore.
And now some one else had to be phoned and be told to come with a boat or send someone in a diving suit to get the swan.
Some bread was thrown and the male swan came nearer but he escaped the net. And what made it more difficult was the fact that the female swan with her cygnets was between the shore and the male too.
As I had already walked for some time and watched all the time I decided to phone Mischa to tell I would take some shoots of the grebe-baby and then would come home for coffee. And that is what I did. My bones are now just a bit warmer and I think hot tea will do the rest.
I did not go back to see how the swan was captured but he will be brought to a center where they give him a transfusion with water, or that is what I understood from their talking and be saved. But in January of this year he had been ill too and I think he would keep a bit calm and not chase all the other animals any longer.
Take it easy swan, I would say.

My haiku:

Crowded pond it is
This shelter for waterbirds
The carps mating too

And the proverb:

A dripping June brings all things in tune.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.