Old and New

The girl went off to work and I had leisurely breakfast before heading out. I decided to walk to Newington Green, not sure why but probably to do with orienting myself first in what was familiar, and doing some shopping along the way.
I passed the spot where my parents wedding pictures were taken, took in the first home that I remember, where my brother and sister were born, my grandparents house where my dad lived long long ago, and landed up at my first school. I am surprised that I remember it all so well as I was six when we left. And I am still even more surprised that the girl has landed herself here.
Tired of the past then I took a bus back to the flat and had lunch. Then set off in search of a fabric shop I found online.
It turned out to be in Ridley Road, home to much of my mother 's life and setting for many of her stories. The past seems inescapable.
The market was lively, full of music and cooking smells and banter, stalls full of all kinds of everything.
The fabric shop, though it doesn't look much from the outside, went back and back and was a treasure trove of beautiful and exotic fabrics and was a haberdashery heaven.
Later I found my way to the hospital where my newest grandson will be born , familiarizing myself with the maternity department, in case I have to get there in an emergency.
The day was very hot and it was very busy everywhere, the buses very crowded, but i found my way around with no problem.
Later the girl and I had a Vietnamese takeaway and afterwards she invited me to put a hand on her bump and feel the little boy in there kicking. Amazing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.