Buskers

We made our weekly trip down to the Farmer's Market today. We met Helena there and did our shopping (salad and desert for guests tonight and fresh peaches) and then drove Helena to Haggen's so we could do a bit more shopping and she could do her weekly marketing. Then we drove her home and now I'm getting ready for Susan and Alan who are coming over for dinner tonight. They are new friends whom we met because of our recent trip to Europe. They booked the same cruise and emailed us to say hello. I emailed back. And we had a dinner out before the trip. On the trip we spent good times together. So tonight they are coming over for dinner and I'm going to show them my photo book from the trip. It will be fun. I took this photo at the Farmer's Market with my Sony RX100. I used its internal software watercolor function to make this version and then added detail with the Nik Detail enhancer.

One not so great thing that happened today was an encounter I had while driving to the market. As I headed down the steep hill near our house down Alabama Street, a van followed me and kept getting closer and closer to the back of my car. I was going the speed limit but it seemed that driver was not satisfied with that speed. He got so close that I began slowing down until I came to a full stop in the road. I am sure that was not a great idea but I was really uncomfortable with him so close to my car. I opened my window and yelled, "you can pass me if I'm not going fast enough for you." He yelled, "Why don't you get out and I'll beat you to a pulp." I didn't respond to that but instead rolled up my window and drove out of there. As he passed I issued the Italian symbol of (well you know) also not really smart. He kept going and a woman in a car behind him opened her window and yelled something at me too. I didn't hear what she said which is probably a good thing. They both turned off the road at the gas station and I kept going to the market. Hopefully I will never see either of them again. 

I wish I understood why people get so antsy to go fast down a hill. I drive the speed limit and often five miles over, but not more, and not going down Alabama Hill which is very steep. The whole incident was bothersome and a bit scary. I'm just glad he didn't come up to my car and make that threat. If he had I am sure Arvin would have gotten involved and that could have been a disaster. Phew. But I'd have been wiser just to drive off and not say anything in the first place though I was afraid he would just start tail gating me again. Wish I had a better idea what to do in a case like that. Sigh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.