Maggie @ Abingdon

By MaggieJH

Orchids at the lakeside

It's almost three weeks since I've done the 10 minute cycle to my favourite local lakes. There's still no sunshine here but at least it was dry today so I set off at around 5pm. Didn't get back until seven as there was so much to see; the circular walk was also quite muddy so it took me longer than usual.

There were masses of wild orchids on the south shore of the lake. They looked delightful - but I'm determined to go back again and see them in the sun. I think they are the common spotted orchid. I'm sure someone will put me right if I'm wrong! What I didn't know, until I came home and googled, was that they are called "spotted" because of the leaves - not the flowers. You can't really see the spotted leaves in this shot but there's a slightly clearer view here.

The lakes are two reclaimed gravel pits - now looked after by the Earth Trust. See my previous Radley Lakes blips for more info.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.