Red Squirrel

By JJRW

The Writing's On The Wall

Bigger writing.

"The writing's on the wall" (or "the handwriting's on the wall" or "the writing is on the wall" or "Mene Mene"), an idiom, is a portent of doom or misfortune.
A rather appropriate blip for me today, as there's something happening in my life the last few days to which this could apply - I just hope I'm being pessimistic and it comes to nothing ...

Beside the small car park I usually use if I need to stop off on one side of Norwich city centre is this disused building. It's fascinated me since I first saw it, so today I stopped and had a close look. The wall (5 double window bays in total) is completely covered with white writing - those readable from ground level seem to be a combination of words, sentences and phrases of social, philosophical and spiritual nature. I can't begin to imagine how many hours and days it took to do - obviously an official project as that lot could never have been done furtively! It's quite amazing ... so I've blipped it...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.