Red Squirrel

By JJRW

Large White: Poringland Wood.

Even larger Large White.

My first butterfly blip of this year - and what a place to get it. I think I've found somewhere I love almost as much as my beloved Foxley wood, but in a different way. Today, off work and with a long gap between 2 appointments in Norwich, I decided to visit Poringland wood. I've only been twice before, briefly during my lunchbreak to photograph fungi I'd been tipped off about. Unlike Foxley, which is ancient (around 6000 years old in places) and deep in most places, Poringland was planted about 60 years ago and so is more open. The banks of huge Rhododendrons in places are breathtaking. The back part of the wood was once a pit, the path behind it being elevated and giving a beautiful view down into the wood. Just off to one side is a small area of wild meadowland, with a proliferation of insects and butterflies. It's a stunning place.

Here's a gallery of the other pics I took there.

I've made a decision - I aim to post my blip for each day from now on, and add a couple of back-blips each time. That way I should catch up!
My second Blip birthday is due soon - I'd hoped to do it with 365 consecutive blips. But my 'mislaid' Samsung seems to have vanished into thin air, despite more intense searching in the only 2 places it could be. So sadly there'll be 4 days missing and my unbroken blip-year isn't to be :(

I have much commenting to catch up with too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.