Five Years

And after a little deliberation I decided to mark it with another Fifty Fifty sea picture. After all, there were a hundred of them in sequence earlier in the year. And with other, less constrained, sea pictures I think fully one third of the images I've taken in the past year have been of the sea at Porty in one form or another. Which considering we only moved here in December, is a significant proportion of my blips.
A year of ups and downs, documented here on Blip, which itself has had its own problems, and remains somewhat uncertain of its future. After the worries over what was happening to the site earlier this year I suspect most of us now have a much clearer 'exit strategy' in mind in case they do indeed shut up shop for good. But until then, I'll keep blipping away. Sharing pictures with the great community out there. And I keep adding new people to the list of blippers I follow so there are always lists of journals to keep up with so even if some old friends don't manage to blip as often as they used to there are still too many to be able to comment and star and distribute hearts quite as much as I would like. I did meet one blip-friend in person last summer when Gunnlaug and her family came to visit Edinburgh and we managed to meet up for a morning in the city.
And it was a momentous year of politics, with the IndyRef campaign getting Blipped, and Blipped and Blipped Again, right up until the Big Day and then afterwards.
But blip proved most valuable to me as a way to grieve. A way to express my sense of loss, and help to work things through, 'talking' online about some of my feelings at the death of my mother and her funeral. It is still only two months since she died - there are days when the fact that she has gone still surprises me and catches me unawares. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.