Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

Pheasant egg

I don't know a huge amount about pheasants other than they have really bad road sense. I certainly didn't know they had an egg season until yesterday.

Available from April to July, they are smaller than hen eggs and come handily in Farrow and ball colours (great for the islington kitchen).

I had two for breakfast and they tasted very subtle compared to my usual Legbar egg, with pale yolk and firm texture. like an upmarket quail egg.

This was definitely an improvement on the gull eggs I had a few years ago (the season spans only four weeks in May). Whereas these fellows are farmed, the gull scavenges wherever he can. The taste of yolk with a hint of Thai curry will long remain in my memory.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.