A little white flier

I was just starting to prepare a light lunch in the kitchen prior to doing the hoovering this afternoon.  As I stood cutting a couple of rolls in half before toasting them, this tiny white insect flew past my head and perched on the window surround behind the kitchen sink.  I peered at it although it wasn't easy to get very close up and realised I had never seen one like it before.

The wings were ethereal with tiny hair hanging below them.  I had my camera in the next door room as I had tried to catch the woodpecker eating at the bird feeder, but had been too slow getting prepared so that it had flown away.  I changed the lens to a macro and bashed off a few pictures in the difficult light.

 When I looked closely at its head I saw some light blue colouration on the back of its head, which I find rather appealing.  The legs are also unusual as they have sections running off at right angles, which make it look a bit like a stick insect.  I've no idea what it is.  Do you?

(Edit:  Mollyblobs has kindly identified it as a White Plume moth.  I would never have known otherwise.  It is worth having a look at the link she provided which shows a much clearer picture of the moth.)

I thought it might be a suitable Tiny Tuesday subject today, so here it is.  (I'm not sure that this challenge is still running but you can but try!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.