From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

I am officially an old bag!

When will all these kids clear off and go back to school?

Good grief! I have been working from home for years but today was the first time I remember moaning about school holidays.

I found myself wondering if I sat in my bedroom blasting crap music out all day long when I was on the long summer break when I was a juvenile delinquent. Firstly, I have always listened to marvellous music - with a short dodgy phase we won't mention - and not the sort of stuff I heard today. When I was 14/15, I was listening to Gary Moore and Phil Lynott!

The lad opposite who probably won't reach adulthood when I'm finished was listening to something that sounded like someone building a shed combined with rap and screeching.

As one of my FB friends pointed out, we used to have decent summers in the olden days and could go out more. Hmmmmm I thought. Nobody got murdered or abducted then either and you could leave your doors unlocked all day in a place where people smiled as they mugged you. Yeah, yeah....

The best thing about working from home is scrambled eggs for your second breakfast, cheesy jacket spud for lunch and the ice cream van comes round in the middle of the afternoon. Mind you, I was the only one out there paying a vast fortune for a Mr Whippy with a flake with hundreds and thousands. It only used to be 30 pence in my day!

I asked the guy if he had crushed nuts, longing for him to say 'No, that's just the way I walk.' but he just looked at me like I had three heads and jabbered something about not understanding.

Sigh!

Track? Peter Green today with one of my favourites -  Shadow On My Door

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.