The second half of life..

By twigs

Safari Success!

Firstly, a huge thank you to everyone who commented on yesterday's blip. I'm chuffed and somewhat humbled. This seems to be turning into my animal blip week - not by design I might add!

One of the countries I've always wanted to visit is Kenya. I've always dreamt of a safari, watching and photographing lions, giraffes, elephants and flamingoes in their natural environment.

In the event that I've yet to make it to Kenya, I safaried to Stoke today where I found an elephant!

Poor thing :( It was freezing cold, (not that her pachyderm skin would have let too much of the cold through) and, although she was 'free to roam' within the confines of a small enclosure, it just seems so wrong that we humans pay peanuts to watch wild animals perform 'clever' tricks just for our amusement.

I briefly considered opening up her enclosure, disengaging the electric fence and setting her free - but I figured the residents of lil' ol' Stoke wouldn't be overly happy sharing their pavements with her.

I guess I'll just have to accept her plight and set my sights on a real safari sometime in the future...........

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.