The Judges' View

A rowing regatta was in progress when I left the flat this morning. Rowers and boats from Porty, NQ, Dunbar and Musselburgh I think, divided up into mixed teams and using the four boats in varied combinations. Unfortunately I wasn't able to hang around for long, but did see one race - out to the buoys and back again. Went up town and bumped into B, who I hadn't seen for a while. We knew him and his wife from back in the good old days of Edinburgh Central Labour Party / Tollcross Branch. Back when the Labour Party hadn't lurched quite so far to the right. Pretty sure that Edinburgh Central had one of the highest votes against the scrapping of Clause IV in the whole country. Good to hear that B is still playing football as he is several years older than me. Hope for me to carry on for a few more years too! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.