Sydney

By Sydney

Seal Mama and her baby

A typically hideous photo from me but yesterday evening as shadows began to turn the shores of my inlet soft and dusky, I saw a seal lying on a log across the water from my bedroom window. As I watched, she slipped off the log and glided underwater, rising again next to a tiny head that I hadn't noticed before. Both animals slipped over to the log and mama helped her dusty purple baby up and then clambered on herself. Here you can see (but not well!!) mama, mama's silver reflection in the water and the baby just under the mama a bit to the right. The white dot on the left is some dried seaweed caught on the tip of a snag. They stayed for 2 hours while I sat on the deck with a cup of tea and Lewis sleeping at my feet. Heaven.
Oh! Clare had some fascinating information to share about the swallow and feather activity that I wrote about on the 19th if you want to look. Amazing! Thank you, Clare!!! x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.