Playing with the youngsters!

Mr Sunshine has returned and this afternoon it was so hot that Ann took me down the river so that I could do lots of splishing and splashing and sploshing.

I met two collies that were playing at retrieving stones that their owner was throwing into the water.  To be perfectly honest, retrieving stones from rivers is a pretty stupid game because I know that stones that are thrown into rivers sink.  And even though I often put my head under the water I know that collies aren’t clever enough to dive to the bottom of the riverbank to retrieve a stone.

Anyway they seemed to be having great fun and their owner invited me to play. 

When their owner threw a stone into the water we had races to see who could get to the place where the stone sank first.

I came last every time...........................

......................Coming last every time is not nice. 

I know it’s the ‘taking part’ that counts and not the winning, but I’m super speedy.  The other two collies were speedier though.

Eventually I gave up playing with them because I didn’t like being last every time.

But do you know what Ann said?.......................  She said, ‘Molly, you’re eleven years old.  Those other two collies are years younger than you.  If you had races with an eleven year old collie you’d probably come first because you are very fit & speedy for your age.’  And then she gave me a little stroke on my head she didn’t cuddle me cos I was wet & stinky and we continued on our walk.

And I did lots more swimming.  And lots more splishing and splashing and sploshing.

...............And I’ve had such a fun afternoon.

Here’s hoping Mr Sunshine hangs around for a while.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.