maryanneb

By maryanneb

thoughts

One of the most difficult things I find about this blip thing is writing stuff with my images. I'm no writer, never have been. I even find it difficult to write in a private journal. There are some fantastic writers as well as image makers here on blip and I think it really makes their personalities shine that much more.

Anyway, couldn't sleep this evening and self portraits were one of those things I'd often do when I couldn't sleep. The whole process was quite therapeutic for me with dealing with a really shitty year last year. If you happened to catch my flickr stream before I deleted and started over, you would have got a pretty good glimpse of that.

The image may come across a little melancholic but it really isn't. I think I'm finally learning to pick up on the negative thoughts that take over my head at times and turn them around. Sometimes I slip but it's much less often these days.

This last minute (can't sleep) blip idea came about from one of my earlier self portraits, a favourite of mine, here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.