Simply Me

By Suze981

Nice place for a bath...

I went for a wander on the way home from work tonight. I've had a busy three days and I just felt like relaxing on a stroll.

I was on my way home and I found myself next to Queen Mary's Bath House. I've often wandered past and loved it's odd location and shape. When I was young, there was a similar little building on the outskirts of Houghton-le-Spring. A random odd shaped detached cottage. I always imagined me as an old woman living there alone. I loved that building, and equally so, I love this building.

It lies on the northwest of the Palace of Holyrood House. It was thought to have been a summer-house, traditionally associated with Mary, Queen of Scots (1542-87). Perhaps a place where the Royal family might have relaxed while walking in the garden.

Although other information purports that Mary, Queen of Scots, used to bathe there in sweet white wine. I prefer this description! An ornate dagger was found in the roof-space while the building was being repaired in 1789. I can just imagine Mary, bathing in wine, taking a glug and trying to catch a nesting bird with her dagger. Hang on...am I imagining Mary or me as an old woman again? Who knows...

Crumbs... I just realised that this is my 200th blip! That came around quickly!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.