The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

On the road

Today I really had to go back to England, as I was due to work the next day.
I went to bed about 3am and woke at 7. This has been a feature of my OCD-cleaning existence at the house that my sister now lives in, which my mother is having some difficulty clearing.

The bedroom looked relatively clutter-free. All the paperwork and other paraphernalia had been stacked in flat boxes around the edges of the room. I had dusted and polished, and cleared surfaces. 'What a shame to leave it, now that I can walk to the bed from the door, and see out of the window' I thought, but consoled myself with the thought that others would now find it easier to sleep in.

I walked along the road to take a picture of the house, but realised I had to walk in the opposite direction, along the curve of the bay, to get a good shot, but that I did not have time, as my train was due to leave Connel Ferry at just after 9am. So I took this shot of the road that I used to cycle along as a teenager, to play on a raft at "goosey island" just off the bay on the north shores of Loch Etive, towards Ardchattan priory.

My sister Kate took me to the station, and I decided there and then to book a ticket back, later these holidays, in order to spend more time having a holiday and playing with my niece Jezzie, and less time cleaning. By that time they will have an internet connection so won't be living in the Dark Age any more. Kate's ordered PlusNet as it is no longer necessary to have a satellite signal, which crashes every time a wave ruffles the surface of the loch.

I love Argyll. Even though it is so often raining, it is always green, and there are always family members around the North Connel/Benderloch/Barcaldine (and now Duror) areas with whom to share tale or two, and a pot of tea or three.

(The journey back was fairly horrendous, and was documented in my blip of 1st August. I am now in Cornwall, and back-blipping from the Sandbar cafe).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.