Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Kilkenny archway

I took the train down to Kilkenny this afternoon to go to a few things in the Arts Festival. After checking in to my hotel I wandered around to get my Kilkenny bearings again (it's been a year since I've been here). The weather wasn't the best to begin with (dull, overcast, chilly), but things improved later on and it was quite pleasant by the time I'd had a bite to eat and finished my wander. It's a great city, full of narrow lane ways and steeped in history and packed with fine buildings, so I rather enjoyed my perambulation and got some half decent shots into the bargain.

Just one musical event today: a short, one-person opera by Francis Poulenc, presented by the wonderful Opera Theatre Company. It's The Human Voice, with the female protagonist on the phone to her lover. We only hear her side of things, and she isn't exactly a happy camper. Kim Sheehan was 'the woman'. She's one of the current crop of fine Irish singers who are establishing an international reputation. The piece only lasts for an hour, so I was back at the hotel quite early.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.