Waterfoot Sunrise

By alasdairb

Wet'nWild

Like many parts of the country, it turned out quite wet and very windy on the East Coast of Kintyre. When I woke up this morning the rain was pitter pattering on the roof window of the bedroom and the wind was whistling through the voids in the house. After my busy day yesterday, I decided to go back to sleep and have a long lie. When I did get up I didn't feel any more refreshed, but at least it was now brightening up a bit.

Turned out to be a pretty lazy day, doing odds and ends about the house and attending a retirement function at the local Abbeyfield Home, which provides sheltered residential accommodation for some of the elderly in the community. Lots of local people help out in the home and Mrs B and I do what we can. Something else that keeps us occupied in retirement.

When I went for the paper this morning I dropped past the harbour where the fishing boats were all still tied up. One had apparently ventured out but had to turn back when the sea got too rough. Today's blip was taken with the harbour behind me looking up Shore Road. Just beyond the last house there used to be a shark processing business to extract the liver oil from Basking Sharks. All that is left now are some pieces of rusty metal and a small building. If you are interested in this piece of local history go to photographs of bygone days in the Carradale Goat

I was trying to capture the power of the waves and settled on this shot because of the height of the breaking sea.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.